All Movie Reviews  > Catalina

All Catalina Movie Reviews

Showing 1 - 11 of 11 Reviews
Review brief: This film in which we are believe that anyone as handsome as Correa is a virgin is only slightly better than average. The unattractive Hawks mars the first scene in the same way that the pencil thin mustache mars the godlike Papillon. The scene with Rhodes and Thompson is a perfunctory performance although Thompson is always a pleasure to view. The scene with Davenport, Davis, and Franco never reaches its full potential. The final scene is indubitably the hottest since few things can surpass the vision of a stiff cock entering the mouth of an idyllic guy. We usually have to go to Kristen Bjorn for that.
read the complete review
Review brief: Six pre-condom scenes with many starring superstar J. W. King. These shorts were directed by Tom Di Simone (aka Lancer Brooks), a pioneer in gay porn who later moved into non-porn films. The unbounded wit of this nostalgic trip back in time makes them ideal for viewing with a group. They are fun as well as nostalgic and can still put a pistol in your pocket.
read the complete review
Review brief: Fans of Mr. Stryker will be pleased that thishis best filmis now on DVD. Even those who are not fansand I must admit to be one of that numberwill find much to enjoy here. It opens with Jeff getting sentenced to 30 days in jail. We are not told what the offense wasjust being surly, I guess. The guard Tony Bravo gets Jeff to strip and examines his ass. So the first glimpse we get of Jeff naked is his never-to-be-invaded anus. Youd sooner get into Fort Knox or the Reading Room at the British Museum before entering that inner sanctum. But then Jeff turns around and thereswinging between his legsis his claim to fame. He quickly dons prison togs and is put in a cell. Tony tells him that he can make his life hard or easy. (In either case he will expect Jeff to be hard.) Although Jeff is placed in solitary, across the way John Davenport and Michael Gere share a cell. John has received a Dear John letter from his girl and so turns to Michael for solace: Suck my dick, faggot. Now John has a cock thats every bit as huge as Jeffs and hes more attractive.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Truckstop Daddy
Truckstop Daddy 

Release date: 6/28/2003
Reviewed on: 4/14/2006 by joe-shaver


Studio: Catalina

Review brief: Being neither a chubby chaser nor one looking for a daddy, I find big burly bears with little or no hair on their heads (but plenty on their faces, chests, and fat bellies) something less than a turn on. When the credits rolled for this one accompanied by pictures of the participants, I feared the worst. But I was surprised when the film began that there were some really hot guys here and several of the scenes got more than my hackles to rise. The first scene begins when the truckstop daddya gentle bear who comes across as not overly brightwatches two guys getting it on in the truckstop restroom. The janitorsorrysanitary engineer is mopping the floor when a rather gruesome guy enters. Hes not one of the fat daddies but he will win no beauty prizes. The janitorsorrysanitary engineer however is one gorgeous hunk. He is David Bronson. Hes handsome and very masculine. He has a great build and a hairy torso can be glimpsed though his unbuttoned shirt. As the gruesome one sits on the toilet, David pops his cock through a glory hole for Gruesome to suck.
read the complete review
Review brief: Catalina Studios has been around for a long time. It has given us (and still does) some of the best of our films. It was Catalina that brought us those astonishing pre-condom William Higgins films and gave a young director using the name Taylor Hudson his first opportunities. (Taylor Hudson is known today as Chi Chi LaRue.) IN HOT PURSUIT is an early film of Jeff Stryker who owes his fame to Catalina and director John Travis. The gimmick here is that Jeff likes to draw pictures and fantasize about them. This is what links the scenes. The first picture Jeff draws is of his friend Mike Hensen, a performer who oozed sex appeal. As though summoned, Mike appears drenched to the skin. Jeff tells him to get out of those wet clothes. (Id tell him to get out of those clothes even if they were dry.) Mike feels self-conscious about being naked sobeing the perfect hostJeff joins him in the nude. Naturally when two naked guys are together the talk turns to sex. Their friendship takes on a new dimension when Mike goes down on Jeffs claim-to-fame. Jeff cums on Mikes face.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Best Of Maxime Cannon, The
Best Of Maxime Cannon, The 

Release date: 12/15/2004
Reviewed on: 9/23/2005 by the-alchemy


Studio: Catalina

Review brief: I am a fan of big uncut dicks. Aiden Shaw, Brad Patton, Barrett Long, and now Maxime Cannon. Maxime might not be as popular as the names I mentioned before him, but boy does he have an amazing uncut cock. Through watching The Best of Maxime Cannon you get to see him use his outstanding uncut tool on seven studs. On to the scenes descriptions. In scene one: Maxime gets to work with Steve Rambo, Catalina's leading man. Steve can deep throat any dick that exists. In this scene he takes all nine inches of Maxime's dick, right up to the balls in his mouth and ass. Steve's cumshot is always a scorcher. This is the best scene on the DVD, but the other scenes ain't that much worst then the first. Scene two: Has Sebastian Cole paired with Maxime. The scene begins with Maxime spying on Sebastian in the shower. Scene three: Has Maxime with Ben Damon. Ben has the whole goofy jock look going for him, if you like that look.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Cousins (Catalina)
Cousins (Catalina) 

Release date: 3/5/2004
Reviewed on: 11/8/2004 by joe-shaver


Studio: Catalina

Review brief: COUSINS was one of the best of William Higgins pre-condom videos. Then it was one of the finest gay porn films ever made. Today in its DVD release it remains a very fine film indeed. The film opens with Billy Gant and his parents coming to visit cousin Matt Ramsey and his parents. Billy was a very cute blond that I dont think was in any other film. Matt Ramsey did quite a few gay films before moving to straight porn where he used the name Peter North. (One can still buy a Peter North ejaculating penis. No, I do not own one!) The sleeping arrangements put the two boys together and, after a midnight skinny dip in the pool, Matt goes to sleep. Billy is not asleep and he very carefully removes his cousins briefs. As Billy is sucking cock, Matt wakes and is shocked. He moves off the bed onto the floor. Remembering the sensation of having his cock in Billys mouth, he decides to let his cousin have his way. Billy also offers up his ass to his straight cousin. The next day when Billy has gone and hes home alone, Mattlounging by the poolorders a pizza.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Sailor in the Wild
Sailor in the Wild 

Release date: 4/13/2003
Reviewed on: 10/16/2004 by joe-shaver

Starring: Cory Adams, Brian Thompson, Tony Roberts
Studio: Catalina

Review brief: Long before the DVD revolution I saw this film on VHS. At that time I thought it was one of the two or three best gay porn films ever made. Bill Henson was the most beautiful and desirable man I had ever seen in one of these films. I even had a picture of him on the wall of my bedroom. Today, of course, having seen what incredible beauties lurked behind the iron curtain, I no longer hold that opinion. Nevertheless, Bill had beauty of the All-American boy variety. He is still a pleasure to watch. The film opens in the hills of Big Bear. Brian Thompson, a sailor on leave, is seen gathering up some wood to build a fire. That night as he is sitting by his fire we see the headlights of a jeep approaching. The headlights go out and we see the beam of an approaching flashlight. Into the light of the fire appears Bill Henson costumed as a park ranger. It is a great entrance. There is Bill, tall, handsome, innocent. (It must be pointed out that Brian is no slouch in the looks department either. He is yet another example of red-blooded American youth: arresting face, nice build.
read the complete review
Review brief: Director: Josh Eliot Starring: Chris Champion, Tony Idol, Vice Rockland, Hunter Scott, Jake Andrews, Bo Summers, Alex Stone, Jeff Mitchell, Doug Perry, Dave Logan, J.T. Sloan, Anthony Gallo, Mark West, Sean Diamond, Daryl Brock, Rod Majors, Scott Russell, Ty Russell, Chip Daniels Story: Theres 4 escaped convicts on the loose, and its up the sherrifs office, the FBI, and a cast of hot, hunky men to track them all down. [ /image ] --> Scene 1: Cops Vince Rockland and Hunter Scott capture Tony Idol and force him into a hot little threeway. First Vince fucks Hunter, then Hunter fucks Tony. Vince has never really been a fan of mine, but he certainly gets the job done here. [ /image ] --> Scene 2: This is the first scene starring horse-hung Chris Champion. He and Jeff Mitchell work over prisoners Bo Summers and Alex Stone. Chriss cock is huge, and he is a nice looking guy, but he comes off a little too trade for me. All he does is get blown, and fuck Alexs ass. Meanwhile Jeff is getting boned by Bo.
read the complete review
Review brief: This Catalina story-driven DVD is far from a great sex romp. The story is a Strangers on a Train kind of a deal, and sort of movie about making movies. Nasty movie director Steve Rambo and his financial angel and lover Blake Harper have a relationship that is on the rocks, mainly because film star Jason Branch, who is film score composer Ray Harleys lover, is actually doodling director Steve on the side. Anyway, Ray finds out by looking at the daily rushes (seeing some extra footage of Steve and Jason doing dirt), so Ray arranges for Blake to strangle Jason and Blake has Ray shoot Steve. Confused? Never mind. Weve seen this plot before and of course much better done by Hitchcock, and the same can be said about the man-to-man sex (except for the Hitchcock part. I dont think he ever filmed man-to-man sex. Although, if Psycho had taken a different turn, I really wouldnt have ruled it out for Anthony Perkins.) Sorry if I confuse the issue further. Anyway, a major fault of this DVD for me is that the suck-to-fuck ratio is WAY too high.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Big Guns (Catalina)
Big Guns (Catalina) 

Release date: 12/10/2002
Reviewed on: 12/1/2002 by joeblow69


Studio: Catalina

Review brief: [ /image ] --> [ /image ] --> [ /image ] --> [ /image ] --> [ /image ] --> [ /image ] --> Director: William Higgins Cast: Mike Henson, Jeff Quinn, John Davenport, John Rocklin, Chris Gray, Kevin Williams, Chad Douglas, Kevin Wiles, Mike Ryan, Rocky Armano, Jeff Boote Story: I have to admit, I can't really figure out what the point of the story is. It's barely there, but enough to tie the scenes together. It has something to do with naval officers on their break. What I liked Big Dicks! There are some true monsters in this video. First off, I have a major thing for Chad Douglas... he's one of those big dicked daddy types that makes my blood boil. His scene with Kevin Wiles is incredible! There's some great penetration shots, and you can really get an appreciation of how enormous Chad is. You can't talk about monster dicks without mentioning John Davenport.
read the complete review
Page 1 of 1 
Current Filters
Catalina X

Available Filters

Category

Director