Reviewers  >  Alan Benson  > Titan Media

Alan Benson's Titan Media Movie Reviews

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 Reviews
Boxcover for Fallen Angel 2: Descending (general release)
Fallen Angel 2: Descending (general release) 

Release date: 4/24/2000
Reviewed on: 1/2/2000

Starring: Alex Stone, Jackson Reid, Frank Parker, Josh Perez, Thomas Lloyd, Damon Page, Harold Creg, Mike Roberts, Tripp Doyle, Kyle Brandon
Studio: Titan Media

Review brief: FALLEN ANGEL II, 111 minutes Titan Media/Atomic (Distributors) Directed by Robert Kirsch & Bruce Cam Featuring: Kyle Brandon, Mike Roberts, Alex Stone, Jackson Reid, Frank Parker, Josh Perez, Thomas Lloyd, Damon Page, Harold Creg, Tripp Doyle REPORT CARD: C+ The original Fallen Angel was a great video success, winning lots of awards in 1998, and spawning two sequels so far. The DVD edition also turned my head around--making me understand, to some extent, the thrill of authentic leather S&M. I wish I could report that FA2: Descending, as they call it in the opening credits, lives up to the original. But how often does that happen? The film has its moments, but there's little here that will thrill anyone other than die-hard fans of the performers or the sub-genre. Firstly, the entire movie is one long orgy sequence, with no real form or continuity. While the guys are undoubtedly into what they're doing, the action is too similar for too long, too constant and unfocused. There are no real beginnings and endings.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Arousal
Arousal 

Release date: 4/24/2000
Reviewed on: 1/2/2000

Starring: Will Clark, Brad Michaels, Adriano Marquez, Marcello Reeves, Rick Matthews, Trenton Comeaux, York Powers, Talvin Demachio, Xavier Depaula
Studio: Titan Media

Review brief: AROUSAL, 82 mins. Titan/45 Degrees/Atomic (Distributors) Directors: Bruce Cam & Robert Kirsh Report Card: B+ ?? How do you review an award-winning softcore porn title which consists mostly of re-used footage? In this case, all of Arousal's couples scenes were shot for Titan's gorgeous hardcore Island Guardian and Desert Train, so first I'd recommend those DVDs over this one--for most of us who are actually interested in sexual activity... Titan calls Arousal "a fine art coffee-table book come to life"--and that's a pretty good description. Cam & Kirsch know how to find stunning scenery--human and otherwise--and film it well. Taken on its own merits this DVD is beautiful, well-made and, yes, arousing as hell--if the sight of gorgeous studs passionately kissing and rubbing against each other for 82 minutes sounds worth a purchase or a rental. (Don't confuse this softcore with the kind usually referred to as "cable porn"--which includes real or simulated sex edited non-explicitly.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Desert Train
Desert Train 

Release date: 4/24/2000
Reviewed on: 12/18/1999

Starring: Adriano Marquez, Marcello Reeves, Eduardo, Michel D'Amours, Brian Hansen, Xavier De Paula, Jackson Phillips, Rich Ryan
Studio: Titan Media

Directed by: Bruce Cam
Review brief: DESERT TRAIN Directed by Kirsh & Cam Titan Media / Atomic (Distributors) REPORT CARD: B Desert Train features perhaps the most gorgeous photography ever shot in the U.S. for a gay porn film. Stunning camera work, and extremely fine music. The editing is top-notch too, if a bit leisurely. And the cast is outstanding--almost every man here is guaranteed to make you jump to attention, so to speak. Still--it manages to add up to less than it should. Titan's main directors--Bruce Cam and Robert Kirsh--can be an infuriating team. They know just what it takes to make great films, and they rank among the best in gay porn for craftsmanship and artistry. Yet their hard-core footage is often poorly planned, uneven and rushed. The sex scenes vary drastically in length, and the "pretty scenery" begins to feel like padding after a while. In Desert Train, for example, Adriano Marquez--one of my current favorites, featured on the DVD cover--is almost completely wasted in a scene which, according to the production notes, was interrupted while filming.
read the complete review
Boxcover for Fallen Angel 1 (general release)
Fallen Angel 1 (general release) 

Release date: 4/24/2000
Reviewed on: 12/5/1999

Starring: Steve Cannon, Harold Creg, Roberto, Kyle Brandon, Jim Buck, Cole Tucker, Tony Zerega, Marc Hamilton, Taurus, Eric Michaels, Tommy Strausser, Chase Alters, Will Burke, Dick LaBete, Tex Matson, Luc Torino
Studio: Titan Media

Directed by: Bruce Cam
Review brief: Directed by Cam & KirschREPORT CARD: B+First off, if you're looking for the extreme side of S&M, buy the video--not the DVD.Titan Media, like others, is farming their DVD production to an outside company. Thus they've decided to release only what they call "retail" versions on DVD, rather than their own private "mail order" versions. (Is this what Falcon is going to end up doing too? I hope not. But if they out-source their DVD production, you can probably count on it.)These "retail" cuts are hardcore sex, to be sure, but they've been re-edited to remove "controversial" scenes, which in gay porn usually means fisting or extreme buttplay, flogging or piercing. (Perhaps multiple penetration too; I'm not sure.) Since this stuff has only slight novelty value for me personally, I probably found the DVD cut of Fallen Angel at least as exciting as I would the VHS cut. Still... No one wants to fork out $69 (the very high retail price) just to find out they've gotten a censored or edited-down product. An unacceptable practice, in my opinion.
read the complete review
Page 1 of 1 
Current Filters
Titan Media X

Available Filters

Category

Director