Porn Stars  >  Joel Lawrence  >  Reviews  > Roy Karch

Reviews of Joel Lawrence Movies by Roy Karch

MOVIESREVIEWS
Showing 1 - 7 of 7 Movies
Boxcover for Making The Scene
Making The Scene 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Steve Hatcher, Roxanne Hall, Julie Meadows, Chris Cannon, Joel Lawrence, Layla Jade, Cheyne Collins, Venus, Joelean, Talon
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 11/4/2003
Making The Scene reviews:
review on  

Julie Meadows in my best example of everything that is wrong with the contract system in porn. At her peak, she turned her back on IR and a large portion of her fan base to sign with VCA. At that point, I was unable to follow her career, and the best I can gather, she fell off the map. Shes a gifted performer, and I have never seen her do wrong on screen. She brings a passion, heat and hunger to her work that is almost non-existent these days. This title was done prior to her signing her contract, but unfortunately it appears to be her downward spiral. The title begins with Layla Jade. She takes some anal, but its a slow scene with little heat. The momentum shifts to Jolean, and even though her ass is solid gold, her work is not. Roxanne Hall looks amazing as well, but once again not enough to jump this title off. Venus comes in, and Im sure that her nasty ways are all its going to take to blast this rocket off, but the lack of heat and anal left me cold. Finally, the one woman that can save this title, Julie Meadows.
   read the complete review
Boxcover for Mrs. Jones
Mrs. Jones 
(3.5 stars avg from 2 reviews)

Starring: Steve Hatcher, Shayla LaVeaux, Joel Lawrence, Venus, Ava Vincent, Nick Manning, Joelean, Barrett Blade
Studio: Wicked

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 9/11/2003
Mrs. Jones reviews:
review on  

Mrs. Jones is a Roy Karch production, which basically means Raincoaters, stay away. This is your basic couples flick, and a pretty decent one at that. The story opens with a dinner party at Shayla LaVeauxs home. There is no dialogue, just a bunch of people moving their mouths. Finally, blond cutie Joelean takes Joel Lawrence off to the music room where they do unspeakable things on a piano bench. Joelean has one of most trim bodies in porn, as evidenced by her RC. Joel drops a load in her mouth and she gives terrific cleanup to end a good scene. Shayla owns a nightclub, and she goes there after her guests leave. This takes about 5 minutes, as she is shown driving, parking, going up a slow elevator, etc. Boring! She talks briefly to bartender Steve Hatcher (who sounds like a moron) before she goes to her office to put some money in the safe. When she returns she starts flirting with the only customer in the joint (must not have been much of a deposit), Nick Manning. They end up going home together and having a torrid affair.
   read the complete review
review on  

          Reviewed By:                              Coyote22                                                                           INITIAL THOUGHTS: Wicked is usually a company that brings quality and great films. They have some of the best special features out there including picture and sound. This film features Shayla LaVeaux and it seems like we have a mystery on our hands. Im really looking forward to this one! VIDEO/AUDIO: The video was in the standard full frame and was pretty well done. The audio was in 5.1 but really didnt need it. RUNTIME: 1 Hour 21 Minutes & 50 Seconds THEMES: Oral, Toys, Rimming (m/f), Girl/Girl, Anal, PTM EXTRAS: Photo Gallery, Interviews, Star Stats, Star Galleries, Promo Material, Trailers, Dvd Rom, Behind the Scenes (21:96) HOW I RATE: I rate in an un-bias way; meaning I will not let something come in my way of reviewing a film before I see it; I make sure to give every film I review a fair chance! I will try to give a detailed description of the film that way you (the reader) will get a real sense for the
   read the complete review
Boxcover for Pillow Talk (Adam & Eve)
Pillow Talk (Adam & Eve) 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Steve Hatcher, Shayla LaVeaux, Mike Horner, Mickey G., Joel Lawrence, Autumn Haze, Lezley Zen, Brittney Skye, Michelle St. James
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 5/9/2003
Pillow Talk (Adam & Eve) reviews:
review on  

Running Time: 96 min. Production Date: 1 / 3 / 2003 Director: Koy Karch Cast: Shayla LaVeaux, Lezley Zen, Autumn Haze, Brittney Skye, Michelle St. James, Joel Lawrence, Mike Horner, Mickey G., Steve Hatcher, and Johnny Saint Initial Expectations: Roy Karch always brings to mind words like nap, dud, wasted potential, and boring, so Im not expecting much here. Initial Reaction: Theres some decent moments, but most of its a dud. Who Should Watch It : Anybody trying to quit watching porn Who Should Avoid It: Couples and anybody who wants some feeling with their porn Audio /Video Quality: The audio is clear and well balanced without any background noises for the most part. There are a few areas where somebody tried adding artistic effects to the audio which makes it interfere with the movie in a big way. The video has a slightly soft feel, and a hint of grain. Its normally well lit, but there are a few areas where some artistic effects are once again attempted, and instead interfere with the video.
   read the complete review
Boxcover for Mail Order Bride
Mail Order Bride 
(3.4 stars avg from 4 reviews)

Starring: Billy Glide, Steve Hatcher, Chris Cannon, Mike Horner, Nina Hartley, Joel Lawrence, Justine Romee, Alexis Amore, Nikita Denise, Kelly Warner
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 2/18/2003
Mail Order Bride reviews:
review on  

Running Time: 86 min. Production Date: 10 / 03 / 2002 Director: Roy Karch Cast: Nikita Denise, Nina Hartley, Justine Romee, Alexis Amore, Kelly Warner, Chris Cannon, Joel Lawrence, Steve Hatcher, Mike Horner, and Billy Glide Initial Expectations: Roy Karch normally leaves me completely underwhelmed, but Ive heard some good things about this one so Im going in with some expectations. Initial Reaction: Its one of the best movies Ive ever seen from Roy Karch, and a great couples movie. Who Should Watch It : Anybody wanting a light couples movie with passionate sex Who Should Avoid It: Anybody wanting either nasty or extremely bland sex Audio /Video Quality: The audio is clear and well balanced with barely a hint of background noises. The video is also very good. It has some very slightly grain, but is wlel lit with most of the shadows appearing natural. Music: The music is normally nicely balanced with the rest of the audio.
   read the complete review
review on  

Running Time: 86 minutes Date of Production: 10/3/02 Produced by: The Jelly Roll Co. Written and Directed by: Roy Karch Female Cast: Nikita Denise, Nina Hartley, Kelly Warner, Alexis Amore, Justine Romee Male Cast: Joel Lawrence, Steve Hatcher, Chris Cannon, Mike Horner, Billy Glide Initial Comments: I know that there are nay-sayers to Karch's stuff, but he's one of the few directors that does all hetero one-on-one videos. The two previous titles of his that I saw were OK, and I'm curious to see what he does here. The first time I watched it, my wife had the volume turned way down so it wouldn't bother the kids. The silent movie effect made a lot of the performances look fake. When I cranked up the volume to hear what was going on, things heated up and got real. Scene Selection: 7 chapter selections with preview clips for the opening credits and 6 scenes. Review: Opening Credits: Joel Lawrence is not on the list. Scene 1: Nikita Denise and Joel Lawrence Nikita is in the dressing room putting on makeup.
   read the complete review
review on  

Adam & Eves Mail Order Bride proves one thing: the girls do not control their sex scenes. Alexis Amore, interviewed before the shoot in a Behind the Scenes segment, says that she loves it doggie-style, that she hopes they do a lot of it in her scene. Her scene is with Mike Horner and the plain fact is they dont do it doggie-style at all. I wont say that Alexis disappointment is our pleasure, but in general its good to know that some directors actually direct the sex they show in their films. After all, its not much fun bashing the girls when it doesnt work out. The nice thing about this picture is that no bashing is required. The story is written around a mail order bride business owned and operated by Joel Lawrence and his mail-order wife, Nikita Denise. Its not so much a story with a plot as it is a situation with a sub-plot. The business is the situation; the sub-plot is an introduction gone bad.
   read the complete review
All reviews of Mail Order Bride
Boxcover for Backstage Passes
Backstage Passes 
(3.0 stars avg from 2 reviews)

Starring: Billy Glide, Steve Hatcher, Kyle Stone, Mia Smiles, Chris Cannon, Anna Malle, Joel Lawrence, Mia Domore, Kelly Warner, Jodie Moore
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 11/5/2002
Backstage Passes reviews:
review on  

Expectations I have never watched an Adam & Eve movie. While I generally like gonzo films, I don't mind a good couples feature every now and then, especially if they feature great looking ladies. This one has Jodie Moore and that is the primary reason I'm watching it. Capsule Review It's very average couples fair. The sets and technical aspects are a little on the low end. Regular readers of my reviews already know that I don't attempt to review porno plots. These are an oxymoron in my mind. Technical The lighting leaves something to be desired as many of the scenes are too dark. The audio is fine. I can't tell if the mastering has problems because of the dark scenes, or if this is a separate issue. Overall, it's not too bad, just slightly on the weak side. Director Roy Karch Extras Photo gallery, bios, bonus scenes, behind the scenes, trailers Target Audience Couples and fans of plot based sex Scene Review Scene 1 - Anna Malle I have never been an Anna Malle fan. It's not that she doesn't have a good bod, cause she does.
   read the complete review
review on  

Running Time: 83 min. Production Date: 7 / 2 / 2002 Director: Roy Karch Cast: Jodie Moore, Anna Malle, Mia Smiles, Kelly Warner, Mia Demore, Kyle Stone, Chris Cannon, Joel Lawrence, Steve Hatcher, Billy Glide, and Roy Karch in a non-sex role Initial Expectations: So far, Roy Karchs movies fall on my list of things I like to do several spots below watching Ron Jeremy suck his own cock. Im not really expecting things to change here. Initial Reaction: Its so good I had to repeatedly check and make sure Koy Karch made it. Who Should Watch It : Anybody who doesnt want any anal, group, or lesbian sex Who Should Avoid It: Anybody wanting intense sex and anything other than straight vaginal sex Audio /Video Quality: The audio is clear and well balanced for the most part, but there are a few sequences where the audio is off balance. Theres also a few spots where the audio gets scratchy, as if its been maxed out. The video has some slight grain, and the lighting is on the low side.
   read the complete review
Boxcover for Circle of Lust (Adam & Eve)
Circle of Lust (Adam & Eve) 
(1.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Ian Daniels, Steve Hatcher, Kylie Ireland, Chris Cannon, T.J. Hart, Mickey G., Elizabeth X, Joel Lawrence, Alex Foxe, Samantha Sterlyng
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 9/27/2002
Circle of Lust (Adam & Eve) reviews:
review on  

Running Time: 76 min. (cover states 120 min.) Production Date: 3 / 19 / 2002 Director: Roy Karch Cast: Kylie Ireland, T. J. Hart, Elizabeth X, Alex Foxe, Samantha Sterlyng, Mickey G., Steve Hatcher, Joel Lawrence, Ian Daniels, and Chris Cannon Initial Expectations: After a string of stick-fests like On the Loose, I look forward to Roy Karchs movies even less than trips to the dentist. Initial Reaction: Im beginning to think of Roy Karchs movies like I do a case of the crabs. Sure it gives you some action in the right area, but its not the way you really want it. Who Should Watch It : Anybody having trouble sleeping Who Should Avoid It: Anybody wanting a lot of hot sex Audio /Video Quality: Although theres a few minor background noises, the audio is pretty clear and nicely balanced. The video is fairly average. Its clear, but theres some minor shadow problems and noticeably uneven lighting in every scene. Music: The music is pretty typical, to the point that youve probably heard most of it before.
   read the complete review
Boxcover for On the Loose
On the Loose 
(2.0 stars avg from 2 reviews)

Starring: Nick East, Ian Daniels, Steve Hatcher, Rod Fontana, Monique DeMoan, Gwen Summers, Joel Lawrence, Shelbee Myne, Rubee Tuesday, Brooklyn Rhodes
Studio: Adam & Eve

Directed by: Roy Karch
Release date: 12/24/2001
On the Loose reviews:
review on  

Cast: Monique DeMoan, Gwen Summers, Shelby Myne, Brooklyn Rhodes, Rubee Tuesday, Joel Lawrence, Steve Hatcher, Ian Daniels, Nick East and Rod Fontana. Director: Roy Karch Production date: 2/20/01 Length: 79 min. Extras: A 12-min. bonus scene, short biographies for all performers except Rubee Tuesday and a disappointing slide show with only ten stills. Disc problems: This previews won't run on my Apple DVD Player (version 2.2.1). This may or may not be an issue on other players. False advertising: The box claims that "Monique DeMoan returns home and finds...the women are hotter, and men are harder, and Monique is ready to try them all! She samples slick slots and thick shafts..." Actually, there's no lesbian sex in the feature, and Monique appears in one scene only, with one shaft only. There's also an Adam & Eve Interactive logo on the cover, which seems a bit disingenuous.
   read the complete review
review on  

Running Time: 79 min. Production Date: 2 / 20 / 2001 Director: Roy Karch Cast: Monique DeMoan, Gwen Summers, Shelby Myne, Brooklyn Rhodes, Rubee Tuesday, Joel Lawrence, Steve Hatcher, Ian Daniels, Nick East, and Rod Fontana Initial Expectations: Adam & Eve has done a pretty good job with their Premium Collection, which makes me expect a well done couples feature. Initial Reaction: Yawn. Who Should Watch It : Couples looking for very light porn Who Should Avoid It: Anybody looking for anything more than vaginal sex between two people Audio /Video Quality: When there isnt any music theres a kind of haze over the audio, kind of like wind noise even though the scenes may happen inside. The video is very clear and looks like it was give quite a bit of attention. Music: The music has a very soft and couples feel. Its balanced nicely although sometimes is just a hair loud.
   read the complete review
Page 1 of 1 
Current Filters
Roy Karch X

Available Filters

Category
Studio