Reviews of HIS & HIS Gold Movies

MOVIESREVIEWS
Showing 1 - 22 of 22 Movies
Boxcover for My First Time (His)
My First Time (His) 
(1.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Tyler Mason, Brant Moore, Scott Wilde, John Wright, Johnny Donvan, Kyle Rames, Tristan Mathew
Directed by: Jim Steel
Release date: 5/8/2007
My First Time (His) reviews:
review on  

Whose first time remains a mystery as technical excesses destroy what might have been an OK film.
   read the review
Boxcover for Frat Pack Box Set (HIS / VCA)
Frat Pack Box Set (HIS / VCA) 
(3.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Ren Adams, Johnny Rahm, Cole Phillips, Dillon Reid, Lee Ryder, David Griffin, Ted Matthews, Mark Steel, Chad Lowe, Jacques Chalon, John Jeffries, Skip Robinson, Michael Gaylord, Johnny Rocket, Jimmy Dante, Ryan Thompson, Bob Wade, Brad Korner, Jeff Mittel, Lyle Williams, Ry Storm, Tony Scott
Release date: 2/21/2007
Frat Pack Box Set (HIS / VCA) reviews:
review on  

The pre-condom classic ALL AMERICAN BOYS gets a lot of stars. None of the other three films (STUDENT FEVER, SPRING FEVER, BACK TO BASICS) are bareback and are only average, but each has a scene or performer that is worth seeing. Still four films at this price is a bargain.
   read the review
Boxcover for On the Down Low
On the Down Low 
(3.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Trent Atkins, Jason Crew, Marcos Pirelli, Brant Moore, Jayden Holloway, Daniel Flynt, Donavan, Luca Alexander
Directed by: Jim Steel
Release date: 2/20/2007
On the Down Low reviews:
review on  

On The Down Low features eight adorable twinks in what tries to be an artsy fuck film directed by Jim Steel. Instead of coming across as hot and sexy, the cheap special effects totally distract you from the hot action that is taking place. Its only when were not bombarded with slow motion, over saturated lighting, or quick edits that we get a fine fuck film with some pretty hot performances. HIS films are usually hit or miss, this one falls somewhere in between. The film opens right away as Jason Crew, an adorable, hung, dark haired twink is blowing Donovan, a slightly hairy, stocky twink, in an empty warehouse only highlighted by surrounding panels of light. Most of the time the scene is so washed out from the lighting you dont get a good feel for what is going on except for the slurping sounds of the two sucking one another. What could have been a great scene is deteriorated by the cheap filming technique and camera angles. After the two suck one antother, Jason rims his partner before fucking him as they lie on their sides.
   read the review
Boxcover for Any Man Can Be...Hard Up
Any Man Can Be...Hard Up 
(4.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: John Marcus, Jean Val Jean, Justin Wells, Park Wiley, Josh Carter, Jason Crew, Mark Hansford
Directed by: Jim Steel
Release date: 12/5/2006
Any Man Can Be...Hard Up reviews:
review on  

After producing their first production in over ten years with Devil Inside, HIS video returns for another film with Hard Up. If the improvement seen in this video over the previous one is any indication of what is in store for the future, things could be looking up for the studio. There are five scenes in this 75 minute film and while that does seem short compared to other studios, truth be told, you dont need a 2 hour film to put out a hot video. Each scene has its own story and no one scene ties into another one. In the first scene, Jason Crew, wearing only a jock strap, is being sucked off by Mark Hansford who is wearing a matching yellow jock strap. Jason is pretty aggressive here as he grabs Mark by the back of the head forcing his mouth down harder on his dick. The guys lose the jocks and Mark is laying back while Jason sucks on his dick. This blowjob is pretty short as after a minute or two of sucking, Mark blows his load. They move to fucking as Jason is drilling his salt and peppered haired bottom missionary style on the couch.
   read the review
Boxcover for Chi Chi Larue's Collection 1
Chi Chi Larue's Collection 1 
(4.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Randy Mixer, Damien, Shawn Justin, Tom Katt, Max Holden, Gender, Wes Daniels, Randall Maxxon, Steve Regis, Hank Hightower, Donnie Russo, Phil Bradley, Rick Bolton, Scott Baldwin, Zak Spears, Greg Ross, Marco Ross, Brock Hunter, Sal Antonio, Michael Chads
Directed by: Chi Chi LaRue
Release date: 10/31/2006
Chi Chi Larue's Collection 1 reviews:
review on  

A three-disc set of Total Corruption 1 & 2, Body Search, and Hologram (see individual reviews). Although from the early part of Chi Chis career, these HIS DVDs are very well done. Some great stars (Zak Spears, for one) and a quality group of guys in all four features. Both Hologram and Body Search have separate audio programs that feature Directors Commentary, a real plus. The production values are aces above most gay porngreat videography, lighting, and sound. And a lot of the action is just fine. There are misses here and there but with a cumulative running time of well over four hours and 20 sex scenes there are bound to be. In the overpriced world of gay porn, this collection is a true bargain.
   read the review
Boxcover for Devil Inside
Devil Inside 
(3.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Mark Slade, Antonio Madiera, Brad Benton, Jean Val Jean, Park Wiley, Jason Crew, Marcos Pirelli, Ben Campezzi
Directed by: Jim Steel
Release date: 10/1/2006
Devil Inside reviews:
review on  

Larry Flynt Productions has announced that they want to revive the VCA-HIS Video line, and in so doing they want to be a player/contender backing it with all their resources. With that in mind, Jim Steel directs their first production since their ten-year hiatus. The video has a story, sort of, but really looks more like a gonzo type movie, as there is no script. It is just meet and jump the bones. That could be one good thing that VCA could bring to the gay video market. To get things started, the opener has Brad Benton and Antonio Madeira in bed. Brad is restless and gets out of bed. As he exits, we see that Antonio is only pretending to be asleep. The scene changes and Brad is making out like crazy with Jason Crew on a couch in the living room. Brads shirt comes off and Jason gives the pudgy pecs a quick once over with his mouth. There must have been an editing error here as Jasons shirt mysteriously disappears in between the time he mouth leaves Brads nipples and makes it down to his stomach.
   read the review
Boxcover for Fade Out
Fade Out 
(4.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Michael Christopher, Jon King, Les Price
Directed by: Roger Earl, Terry LeGrand
Release date: 7/25/2006
Fade Out reviews:
review on  

Although the pre-condom FADE OUT doesnt have a sensational set piece like its companion film FADE IN that featured Jon King in a huge spider web, its still more than worthy of a transfer to DVD. Both were the work of Terry Le Grand and David Earl who produced some unique and wonderful films in the pre-condom era that were always delightfully imbued with humor and camp. The star of FADE OUT is a cute young blond called Chris Allen. Little Chris was one of the first performers I ever saw who had a foreskin. (My best friend had one, but thats another story.) Watching the film again after all these years I realize I still have a thing for Chris. The film begins with Chris going to a fortuneteller played by Mark Edwards, a plump old queen who often appeared in these films. Out comes the Tarot cards and with each card we get a sex scene. Before each scene theres a cloud of dry ice and we see a naked Chris walking into the cloud. (What an ass this kid had!) After this the scenes begin. The first card is The Hermit. This leads to a solo jack off by David Ashfield.
   read the review
Boxcover for A Night At Halsted's
A Night At Halsted's 
(0.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Fred Halsted, J.W. King, R.J. Reynolds, Ben Barker, Greg Dale, Gary Sikes, Lee Thompson, Robby Morton, Frank Romero, David Eagleton, Ricky Lindley, Mike Madera
Directed by: Fred Halsted
Release date: 6/2/2006
A Night At Halsted's reviews:
review on  

This film was basically an advertisement for Fred Halsted's and his club both of which are now defunct. It consists of various get-togethers in a place that looks rather dreary and uninviting. For example we have cute mop-haired Greg Dale blowing the mature Halsted whose dick is shoved through a slot in a clear plastic curtain (Yawn!) along with other encounters which can barely be seen due to dim lighting. As none are uplifting perhaps they were better filmed this way. The only famous performer is J. W. King. In his scene that is blurred with red light and almost impossible to see, J. W. King is lounging in the hall and is picked up by an average Joe. J. W. sucks the guys cock and fucks him. There is dubbed sound that along with the piss-poor lighting keeps us from getting into the scene. After J. W. cums, he reinserts his cock into the guys ass. A rather disturbing bit of business since J. W. was one of the early victims of A.I.D.S . (So was this guy too, I guess.) As a film it sucks. As a commercial for his club I can't belive it would encourage anyone to attend.
   read the review
Boxcover for Don't Kiss Me I'm Straight
Don't Kiss Me I'm Straight 
(3.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Karl Thomas, David Grant, Alexander, Rick Savage, Viper, Chad Knight, Jim Montana, Robbie Anderson, Tony Raz, Nick Youngblood, Eddie Greeko
Release date: 4/25/2006
Don't Kiss Me I'm Straight reviews:
review on  

Seducing a straight guy. Its one of the all-time gay fantasies. Yet the reality is that although it may provide a tremendous boost to the ego, its probably going to be pretty bad sex. DONT KISS ME IM STRAIGHT is divided into four encounters that are supposedly true-life adventures written by gays who seduced straights. Accept it as truth if you will. In Pizza Boy young blond Jim Montana has set the scene for seduction. A straight porn video is playing on the TV. The deliveryman, David Grant (hes a little too old to be a boy) is left sitting on the sofa as Jim goes off to get his money. Naturally David watches the action on the screen. Naturally he springs a boner. When Jim returns, he sits next to David and takes a long time to get the money from his wallet. (It will not take him long to get the dick out of David's pants.) He reaches over to touch the deliverymans thigh. The deliverymans initial reaction is to quickly remove Jims hand.
   read the review
Boxcover for King Size (His)
King Size (His) 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Scott Avery, Rick Donovan, Chris Allen, Chris Burns
Release date: 4/8/2006
King Size (His) reviews:
review on  

Long before there were the big cocks of Chad Hunt and Michael Brandon and the two Donovans Chad and Tony gracing our screens there was Rick Donovan for whom the last two were probably named. The title of this film doesnt say Rick Donovan IN King Size. It says Rick Donovan IS King Size. Rick looked like a cute mid-western farm boy who seemed to have the IQ of a cantaloupe but between his legs was a huge slab of Grade A meat. Hes paired here with Jesse Koehler, a slim blond California beach boy. Jesse actually manages to deep-throat the monster, something I dont remember anyone else doing. (I can still see Leo Ford trying to swallow the thing in the film LEO AND LANCE. It resembled a mouse trying to ingest an anaconda.) The film has a weak framework. Chris Allen, a petite blond whom I found adorable in these early pre-condoms and who had a small uncut cock (the first I ever saw on film), is a magazine editor trying to choose models for an upcoming magazine. As he looks at pictures he imagines guys together. The first pairing is the Donovan-Koehler one.
   read the review
Boxcover for Christopher Rage's Orgy
Christopher Rage's Orgy 
(2.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Jay Richards, Daniel Holt, Bosch Wagner, Colon Topar, Jim Davies, Leslie Williams, Lorenzo Vidal
Directed by: Christopher Rage
Release date: 3/15/2006
Christopher Rage's Orgy reviews:
review on  

This is a decent enough DVD version of iconoclastic Christopher Rages 1983 work. The action is good, the guys very natural, the sex pre-condom. But there are better examples of Rages work out there. Still, a nice time capsule for collectors.
   read the review
Boxcover for Celebration
Celebration 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)


Release date: 3/14/2006
Celebration reviews:
review on  

A pre-condom classic with five short duos based around the first gay Pride parade in San Francisco in 1978. Technically well below today's standards but an interesting museum piece for your collection.
   read the review
Boxcover for Falconhead 2
Falconhead 2 
(3.3 stars avg from 2 reviews)

Starring: Blake Palmer, Paul Barresi, Steve Collins, Brad Mason, Danny Combs, Rick Taylor, Paul Monroe, David Jones, Vito Bonetti
Directed by: Michael Zen
Release date: 2/10/2006
Falconhead 2 reviews:
review on  

“Faconhead 2” is one of the first works by Michael Zen. A deep movie about narcissism and hot sex. A very well directed and photographed artistic adult movie. If you like gay sex and strange, artistic and deep films, this is your movie without any doubt. If you don’t like to watch men fucking another men, this is not your movie. However, if you are a truly fan of good adult films “Falconhead 2” is a movie you must see at least once. It’s your choice. Enjoy it.
   read the review
review on  

I had this on VHS umpteen years ago, watched it twice, and couldnt make head or tail of it. Eventually I gave it away. Now that it has been released on DVD I thought that perhaps I might have grown wiser with age so decided to watch it again. Well, I was just as befogged as before. Some of the problem may lie in the fact that Ive never seen FALCONHEAD ONE, but I doubt it. Its one weird fucking flick. It begins with Paul Barressi wearing a falcons head and a leather jock out in the wild. Smoke crosses the scene and Paul can now be seen jacking his cock to climax. It seems to baptize an attractive blond Rick Taylor whose dream it was. As he showers we hear him say I dreamt a guy with a falcon head masturbated on me. Paul now appears in his bathroom (minus the falcon head) and enlists Rick to go bring back his (Pauls) lover from the falcons clutches.
   read the review
Boxcover for New York City Pro
New York City Pro 
(1.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Andy Fuller, Ace, Leo Ford, Tony Peters, Joe Domenico, Buck Ryan, Brian Miles
Directed by: Alan Purnell
Release date: 2/10/2006
New York City Pro reviews:
review on  

I first saw Leo Ford in a little theatre off Times Square. The film was J. Brians Flashback. It featured Leo along with his then lover Jamie Wingo. Leo, whose real name was Leo Higeford, was beautiful, slender, and a natural blond. I fell instantly in love. Jamie was cute, but Leo was perfection. When Jamie sucked Leos delightful cock, I seethed with envy. When Leo went down on Jamie I was beside myself. Although I had never been fucked, when Leo fucked Jamie I was willing to let him do the same to me. But the ultimate moment arrived when Leo lifted his legs and Jamies cock entered into Leo. I came in my pants. I hadnt touched myself and yet I came right there in the theatre. I was terribly embarrassed and afraid to leave after the film was over. There was nothing for it but to stay there and watch that scene again. For many years that remained my favorite scene in all porn and Leo the main object of my fantasies. NEW YORK CITY PRO cant hold a candle to J. Brians Flashback nor to other films with this remarkable performer.
   read the review
Boxcover for Sleaze (HIS)
Sleaze (HIS) 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Casey Donovan, Scorpio, Daniel Holt, Joe Ryder, Jed Black, David Stoner, Christopher Rage
Directed by: Christopher Rage
Release date: 2/10/2006
Sleaze (HIS) reviews:
review on  

If you are looking for something such as the title suggests, you will be very disappointed. With no gangbang, no bondage, no S & M, no watersports, and no fisting, things just aint very sleazy. The setting is a New York sex club circa 1982 where if you have sex with a member he marks your ass with red paint (a Z like Zorro) and you become a member too. The sex is all very vanilla. There is cocksucking and fucking and some rimming and at one point a lonely guy shoves a dildo up his ass but thats it. Its also impossible to get off because we keep being jerked back and forth between the various scenes of action so that we are never able to get involved with any. It begins with Scorpio (the real star of the film as he is in the most scene). Scorpio had long blondish hair, a droopy handlebar mustache, and a smooth chest. When we first see him he is wearing an open leather vest and leather chaps with no seat. He is getting his cock sucked by a scruffy guy in cowboy gear. Elsewhere others are playing solo. The sucker lies on the floor and gets naked.
   read the review
Boxcover for Rodeo
Rodeo 
(3.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Blake McDonald, Pierce Daniels, Tico Patterson, Michael Christopher, Shawn Easton, Ricky Turner, Dwan, John Rock, Ken Rogers
Directed by: Kenneth Holloway
Release date: 12/27/2005
Rodeo reviews:
review on  

If youve seen Brokeback Mountain you know that Jake Gyllenhaals character Jack Twist had a scene where he tried to come on to another rodeo rider and was rudely rebuffed. This pre-condom film now reissued onto DVD shows that Jack was simply at the wrong rodeo. In this film directed by Kennith Holloway (Yep, Kennith is the way he spells it) the cowboys are more than willin. Holloway liked to give his films a plot knowing that if we get involved with the characters were more into their sexual encounters. In this little opus Blake McDonald, a cute young guy with dark curly hair and lips that were made to suck a dick, bids farewell to his horse and heads off to see the rodeo. Hitchhiking, hes picked up by Michael Christopher. Michael was not handsome by any means. His face had a sort of squashed look as though he had been roller-skating on the highway and collided with the back of a bus. But when Michael removed his clothes he had considerable charms. He had a fine muscular physique and a very big cock that got awfully hard.
   read the review
Boxcover for Leather Sex Club
Leather Sex Club 
(1.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Cougar Cash, Brad Josephus, Jimmy Proust, John Erickson, Johnny Garcia, Norman Sizelove, Steve Trevor
Release date: 12/13/2005
Leather Sex Club reviews:
review on  

Leather Sex Club is one of those DVD releases that you just have to ask yourself, why? I remember the H.I.S. line of videos back in the day were generally pretty bad and this just reminds me of it. The production is from 1991 and it looks like they have just transferred an old VHS copy to DVD, the lighting is bad, film is grainy, and just an overall bad production and transfer. The cast is credited but I just really wasnt sure who was who, and if youre looking for some raunchy leather sex forget it, you wont find it here. Its a misleading title and just features four segments where the guys maybe wear a leather jacket, collar, harness, or something and there is no club or anything remotely hardcore. It begins with a young and an older guy in what appears to be a boarded up room whereby the two of them suck one anothers erect cocks before the older guy fucks his partner. Its really standard fare and nothing particularly exciting. The picture is all washed out and just looks horrible.
   read the review
Boxcover for Leather Angel
Leather Angel 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Randy Storm, Johnny Rahm, Dillon Reid, David Griffin, Nick Romano, Michael Gaylord
Release date: 11/25/2005
Leather Angel reviews:
review on  

I am confused about the name of this movie as the DVD and box cover says it is Leather Angel, but all the titles in the film say it is Leather Angels. This film was originally produced in 1992 where we had some of that dreary music that played over and over again. As the name implies, this is a leather video, but its not one of those in a dark leather bar. The background scenes appear to be cheap props thrown together. Even with that, I prefer it over darkened bars. It mixes the scenes with black and white along with color video. In the opening scene, Dillon Reid, the cover model, appears to be chained by his hands while David Griffin is behind him rubbing all over and playing with Dillons nipples. Both are dressed in leather, but neither has the muscular body you normally associate with leather films. This scene is filmed in black and white. David does some sucking on Dillons dick and alternates back and forth between doing this and sucking on Dillons nipples.
   read the review
Boxcover for Bare Boners
Bare Boners 
(2.0 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Butch Taylor, Rick Donovan, Brad Phillips, Chris Burns' Ensemble, Michael Vincent, Chad James, J.W. King, Johnny Dawes
Release date: 10/5/2005
Bare Boners reviews:
review on  

I guess Im anal retentive or obsessive-compulsive but I prefer complete films to compilations. I know thats silly since 97 of porn films have no plot and are therefore compilations, but Im just funny that way. BARE BONERS is a compilation of 8 early pre-condom scenes from the vaults of HIS Studios. They haveI regret to saychosen poorly. In addition none of the scenes or performers are identified and that added to my frustration when I knew a performer but couldnt think of his name. Obviously all they were interested in here was to make a quick buck. The first scene opens as two blonds (Michael Vincent and Jamie Blue) arrive at a house. While adorable Jaime stays downstairs on the sofa with Chad James (who is nothing to turn you on) and a mustachioed dude (who has severe erection problems) Michael goes upstairs with a cute guy that I know but dont. Downstairs, Chad takes a pounce on Jamies cock and is soon sucking away. Soon all three are naked.
   read the review
Boxcover for Hung & Hairy
Hung & Hairy 
(2.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Tony Davis, Hank Hightower, Zak Spears, Pierce Daniels, Chad James, Tico Patterson, Jerry Davis
Release date: 9/20/2005
Hung & Hairy reviews:
review on  

Up and down compilation with several pre-condom scenes and two scenes from Chi Chi LaRues 1990s stuff. There are three really good scenes out of seven; some of the other material is interesting if only historically. A leather cop scene with Hank Hightower and Donnie Russo and a Zak Spears group scene are the more modern winners. An older barroom orgy featuring the Brad Peters also makes the cut. The title doesnt lie; lots of big meat and furry briskets everywhere.
   read the review
Boxcover for Bigger the Better, The (HIS)
Bigger the Better, The (HIS) 
(4.5 stars from 1 review)

Starring: Rick Donovan, Buster, John Thomas
Directed by: Matt Sterling
Release date: 5/19/2005
Bigger the Better, The (HIS) reviews:
review on  

THE BIGGER THE BETTER was one of the hottest pre-condom films made so its high time its been transferred to DVD. It features Rick Donovan, a young guy with a humongous cock, and a couple of real cuties: Bobby Madison, Buster, Joe Craig, and Brian Hawks (who in his early appearances such as this one used the name Shawn McIvan). Its notable also in the fact that Matt Ramsey bottoms for the hugely endowed Donovan especially since Matt Ramsey went on to become straight porn star Peter North. The irony of it all is that his gay porn appearances are far superior to his straight porn appearances. I guess he thought cunt tasted better than cock. Ah, well, theres no accounting for taste. As the film begins, teacher Matt Ramsey is having problems with student Rick Donovan. He asks the inattentive student to stay after school. When they are alone it is not teacher Matt who exerts authority over the student, but the other way around when Rick hauls out his massive member and proceeds to drive it up the teachers ass.
   read the review
Boxcover for All American Boys (His)
All American Boys (His) 
(5.0 stars from 1 review)


Release date: 8/19/2003
All American Boys (His) reviews:
review on  

This film is one of the true classics of the pre-condom era. Ironically, in spite of the title, it begins with a French exchange student (Jacques Chalon) arriving at L. A International airport to begin classes at UCLA. Jacques roommate is blond John Jefferies, a twink that is so sweet just looking at him requires an insulin injection. He tells Jacques that there is something about himself that he cant discuss. We know what that is when we see John in a sensational scene with his lover Lyle Williams. The first sex in the film however is a nice jack off from Jacques. Just the thing to calm down after his trip. Or maybe it was seeing John naked as he was changing to go out. Jacques was certainly ogling those pretty buns. But Jacques soon encounters Lee Ryder and Bob Wade who after getting him high on drugs introduce him to man-to-man sex. (Imagineintroducing a Frenchman to a ménage a trois.) Lee Ryder was a handsome and incredible performer with an enormous endowment. (He is the star of Falcons HUGE. That is no exaggeration.) Wade has a nicely haired torso.
   read the review
Page 1 of 0 

Available Filters

Category
Director
Free Video Preview